Maine Pharmacy Association

DHHS shared guidance documents for e-prescribing and opioid dispensing

DHHS shared guidance documents for e-prescribing and opioid dispensing.  Notably, “A pharmacist is NOT required to verify that a practitioner has a waiver of the requirement to electronically prescribe…” To review the official documents, please click on the links below. Electronic-Prescribing-Clarifications Opioid Dispensing Clarification    

E-Prescribing Grace Period Notice and Chapter 488 User Guide

The deadline for mandatory e-prescribing of opioids was rapidly approaching on July 1st. However, the State sent the following communication announcing a 31 day grace period for enforcement of the penalties for violating the e-prescribing provision.  This is good news and will give prescribers and dispensers a little more time to prepare. DHHS provided material on other provisions in Chapter […]

2017 Scholarship Golf Scramble

Join us for our 2017 Scholarship Golf Scramble ! Where: Val Halla Country Club When: Saturday, August 12, 2017 Shotgun start 1pm Includes 18 holes of golf on a championship course, golf cart, BBQ dinner at Rachel’s on the Green! Cost: Single Golfer: $110.00 Foursome: $400.00 Dinner Only: $35.00 Corporate or personal hole sponsorship: $75 […]

Pharmacists from across Maine convene in Augusta to advocate for profession and patients

Pharmacists and pharmacy students from across the state convened in Augusta on May 30th to advocate for LD 572.   Update: Senate passes LD 572; now on to the House!  LD 572 specifies in statute that the “Practice of Pharmacy” is “the provision of health care services” and that “Pharmacists” are “providers of health care services”. […]

LD6 and LD44 Are Successfully Moving Through the Legislative Process

Good news!!  Two bills, LD 6, an “An Act to Prohibit Insurance Carriers from Retroactively Reducing Payment on Clean Claims Submitted by Pharmacies” and LD 455, “An Act Relating to the Provision of Smoking Cessation Services by Pharmacists” are moving through the legislature process. LD 6, an “An Act to Prohibit Insurance Carriers from Retroactively Reducing Payment on […]

Maine Pharmacy Association honors  deserving individuals at the Annual Fall Convention.  Nominations are open from April 1st- June 1st.

Douglas H. Kay Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award

Sponsored by:  Maine Pharmacy Association

The Douglas H. Kay Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award is named after Maine’s “most distinguished” and nationally recognized pharmacy educator. The Award recognizes those who have made a significant contribution to pharmacy education in Maine and who have had a positive influence in the lives of future generations of pharmacists in the state. Nominees must have shown a commitment to the overall mission and objectives of pharmacy education with at least 15-years’ experience in any type of pharmacy education, including teaching, precepting and mentoring of trainees.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award

Sponsored by:  Pharmacists Mutual Companies

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award was designed to acknowledge young pharmacists in each state for individual excellence and outstanding contribution to their pharmacy association and community. The criteria for this award is as follows: Entry degree in pharmacy received less than 10 years ago, licensed to practice in state in which selected, current membership in the state pharmacy association, participation in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, state association activities and/or community service.

Bowl of Hygeia Award

Sponsored by:  American Pharmacists Association Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations

The Bowl of Hygeia Award recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership in their communities and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in the affairs of their respective communities. The award is presented annually by participating state pharmacist associations, including those in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. In addition to service through their local, state and national pharmacy associations, award recipients have devoted their time, talent and resources to a wide variety of causes and community service.

Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award

Sponsored by:  Cardinal Health Foundation

The Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award program recognizes excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention at state pharmacy associations.  This award honors a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug abuse among the general public and among the pharmacy community.  The award is also intended to encourage educational prevention efforts aimed at patients, youth, and other members of the community.

Upsher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award

Sponsored by:  Upsher-Smith

The NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes and honors a qualified pharmacist who has demonstrated significant innovation in his or her respective practice, method, or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy. The award is presented annually by participating state pharmacist associations, including those in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

Maine Technician of the Year Award

Sponsored by: Maine Pharmacy Association

The Maine Pharmacy Association Technician of the Year Award acknowledges an individual of high integrity who displays excellence in the role of pharmacy technician, is motivated to learn new tasks and roles, and is a contributing member of their pharmacy team.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.